As early as 1481 Andrea Loredan commissioned the design of his house in San Marcuola, a site where the family had, for some time, owned several properties. It is not certain how much time passed between its commission (attributed by 20th century critics to Mauro Codussi, the greatest Renaissance architect working in Venice), and the completion of the work. However, sources narrow the time span to between 1502 and 1509. The first mention of the palace in literature dates back to Francesco Sansovino's guide to Venice, published in 1581 under the title Venezia città nobilissima et singolare.
Residence of the Doges and last home of the composer Richard Wagner, Ca' Vendramin Calergi is a perfect example of patrician Renaissance style and is still one of the most beautiful palaces overlooking the Grand Canal.
Entirely owned by the Casinò di Venezia, this venue is laid out as follows: on the ground floor there is a garden used for parties, concerts and themed evenings.
The mezzanine floor houses the flats of composer Richard Wagner, who lived here. The museum rooms, dedicated to the maestro and managed by the Associazione Richard Wagner di Venezia, can be visited free of charge thanks to the support of the association's volunteers, subject to prior booking.
On the main floor is the ballroom which, together with the adjoining rooms, is used for parties, conventions, shows, press conferences and every year is the official location of the Venice Carnival Dinner Show.
On the same floor, the Wagner Restaurant is open all year round and offers the exclusive pleasure of refined dining with 150 seats in three exceptional rooms, the Sala Grigia, the Sala Gialla and the Sala Rossa, decorated with paintings by Palma il Giovane and frescoes by Gian Battista Crosato.
On the top floor, the Casinò di Venezia completes the experience.